Facebook Pixel
logo

800-perkins

203-397-1283

Connecticut Auto Insurance FAQ

Connecticut Auto Insurance FAQ

At Jonathan Perkins Injury Lawyers, we are dedicated to fighting for the rights of those who have been injured in an auto accident caused by the actions or negligence of another driver.

Auto insurance is intended to cover motorists in the event of an accident; however, the insurance company does not always have an injured driver’s best interests at heart. They will often try to get injury victims to settle for far less compensation than they need to cover losses and treatment expenses.

Our team of attorneys has experience dealing with insurance companies and has the skills and resources necessary to successfully litigate an auto accident claim.

For more information on the legal rights which may be available to Connecticut auto accident victims and their families or to schedule a no-obligation consultation with one of our lawyers, complete the Free Case Review form on this page.

According to Connecticut law, all registered vehicles must have insurance. Additionally, insurance must be maintained at all times, as long as there is an active registration which allows the vehicle to be operated on public roads.
The minimum liability limits in Connecticut are $20,000 for bodily injury liability for one person, $40,000 for all injuries in one accident and $10,000 for property damage in a collision.
Property Damage Liability will cover damages if you or one of your dependents were at-fault in a car accident that caused the damage of another person’s property.
Bodily Injury Liability coverage pays for damages incurred if you were at-fault in a crash that caused the serious, permanent injury or fatality of another. This insurance will also cover members of your family who live with you, regardless of whether they were operating someone else’s vehicle at the time of the accident.
Connecticut’s mandatory insurance reporting law requires insurance companies to report records of uninsured vehicles. Upon receiving this information, uninsured vehicles are matched against other active insurance and registration records. Vehicles that are in violation are reported to the Department of Motor Vehicles for administrative action.
In Connecticut, you must certify insurance coverage when you register or renew a vehicle registration. A signature on Connecticut’s Registration Certificate indicates that minimum vehicle liability insurance will be maintained for the duration of the registration period and that the vehicle will not be driven if uninsured.
When insurance coverage is cancelled, the DMV is notified by the insurance provider and the registrant is mailed a Warning Notice which allows them to do one of two things: enter into a consent agreement  or obtain insurance and pay a fine of $200.If a registrant fails to respond to this notice, they may be subject to the suspension of registration and possibly the loss of all privileges to renew or register ANY motor vehicle following an administrative hearing.